Friday Five – 9/16/11

Ok, so I have been slackin off and not posting up my Tuesday Six (thank you Carrie for bustin my balls on this one). This week I will do a Friday Five, then get back on track next week with Tuesday Six. Here ya go…

1. Karma to Burn – Forty Seven

New heaviness from the stoner rocks badasses from WV. Their music is mostly instrumental, but says volumes more than a lot of other music out there. Don’t miss them on 9/21 at the Rock and Roll Hotel (with Borracho supporting!)

2. Cocteau Twins – Shallow Then Halo

So I had never heard the Cocteau Twins until about a week ago. (I know, I know) Not my typical heavy style, but very haunting, beautiful and dark, this song really grabbed my attention and wouldn’t let go. Visited Smash! in DC for the first time in years, and they were playing the Garlands album on vinyl. Gonna check out more of their music for sure.

3. Wolfmother – Eyes Open

Putting this one in here for my buddy Drew, who was in a medically-induced coma following a pretty bad motorcycle wreck. Last week, Drew opened his eyes and was cognizant for the first time since the wreck. You’re in my thoughts buddy, can’t wait til you are healed up! (These beers ain’t gonna drink themselves, ya know)

4. Pelican – March Into the Sea

Absoutely love the heavy, atmospheric sounds of Pelican. The deep music weaves a tale that takes you on a journey, and March Into the Sea is one of my favorites.

5. The Obsessed – Streamlined

One of my favorite tracks from The Church Within, Wino and the gang really rock on this one.

Your Turn - Tell Me What You Think!

