Tuesday Six – 2/28/11

Monster Magnet – Snake Dance

Awesome song from Monster Magnet’s first album, Spine of God. I didn’t get into MM until the Dopes to Infinity album, then a friend made me a tape (haha) of Spine of God and Superjudge, and I was totally hooked. I was already a fan of the stoner rock genre, but MM has always had a slightly more hard psychedelic edge to them. Still making great music to this day.

 

Gojira – Vacuity

I’m not terribly familiar with a lot of their work (although I admittedly need to be), a friend shared this song with me, and it just blew me away. Ranging from churning, painful heavyness one minute to machine gun ferocity the next, Gojira cover a broad base of metal styles in just one song. The video is very powerful as well, beautifully shot and somewhat heart-wrenching.

 

Rush – Working Man

I’ve had this song stuck in my head all morning. Always loved this tune, from their 1974 debut album with original drummer John Rutsey. As epic as the rest of the Rush catalog is, I like the more straighforward, Sabbathy classic rock sound of this one.

 

Metallica – The Thing That Should Not Be

Off of 1986’s metal masterpiece Master of Puppets, this is a seriously heavy H.P. ovecraft-inspired tune based on the infamous short story, The Call of Cthulhu. A dark, chilling story, and Metallica captured it perfectly. Had to post a clip of them playing it live with Cliff back in the day. Check out this clip too, from 2001 at their 30th anniversary show. Still sounds awesome.

 

Iced Earth – Jack

From 2001’s Horror Show, a (kind of) concept album where all the songs were based on horror film, literature, and as in this song, real-life (Jack the Ripper). This was the album that got me into Iced Earth, and I have always loved it. When I had a chance to meet and talk with IE founder Jon Schaffer, he told me he wished the album never existed (due to the horrible experience with bassist Steve DiGiorgio). We discussed, and agreed to disagree. I still love this album, still one of my favorites by Iced Earth next to Something Wicked.

 

Black Sabbath – Hole in the Sky

So yeah, there’s all kinds of chaos surrounding the Black Sabbath reunion. The shafting of Bill Ward, Tony Iommi’s cancer, Sharon Osbourne, well, being Sharon Osbourne, but none of that can change the hard fact that Black Sabbath will always be the godfathers of heavy metal, one of the greatest ever. My love for them has not waned one bit, and this song is one of my greatest examples. Truly amazing. Hail Sabbath.

Your Turn - Tell Me What You Think!

