Tuesday Six – 6/26/2012

First off, let me apologize for the lack of posts lately. Kinda took some time to step back, regroup, and thinking of some ways to expand and improve things. Work hasn’t done wonders for my posting time either, but it’s tie to get back on track. Today is my 38th birthday, another year of getting perilously closer to the dreaded 4-0. I’ve not been on top of my game lately as far as new music is concerned. Musical rut? Maybe. I have found myself going back to the familiar and comfortable rather than seeking out fresh and new. I suppose it’s an ebb and flow of the moods of a music junkie. That being said, here are 6 “comfort food” (if you will) songs I have been jamming to lately. Enjoy!

 

1. AC/DC – Whole Lotta Rosie

With so many amazing songs in their catalog, it’s kinda hard to choose just one AC/DC song. One of the greatest rock and roll bands, ever. Period. Hands down. I have equal love for the Bon era and the Brian era. This ode to big, beautiful ladies brings out my inner air guitar champion, and you just can’t help but scream along with Bon on this one.

 

2. Metallica – Call of Ktulu

Metallica has always been one of my favorite bands, the band that shifted my musical outlook dramatically many moons ago. One thing Metallica has always done well are their instrumentals, and this song, from 1986’s Ride the Lightning is a shining example. I am still kicking myself for not going to the Orion Music & More Festival this past week in Atlantic City, where they played Ride in its entirety (albeit from last to first, not in sequential order). I try not to use the word “epic” too often, but this song has always been just that to me. I have included the live version from Orion below. The video intro actually gave me chills.

 

3. The Ramones – Do You Remember Rock and Roll Radio?

From 1980’s End of the Century, this song will always get me smiling. Produced by Phil Spector, with the trademark “wall of sound” production, the message of this song is as true today as it was back then, longing for more heartfelt music of yesteryear.

“Cause lately it all sounds the same to me.”

So true.

 

4. Kiss – Mr. Speed

A great song from one of my favorite bands of all time. Just a good, happy groove on this one. Love the whole Rock and Roll Over album.

 

5. Bob Seger & the Silver Bullet Band – Night Moves

I have loved Seger since I was a child, and, to me, Night Moves has always been his best album. Songs like Fire Down Below and Mainstreet are classic, but the title track is legendary. When I am feeling the stress and pressures of the day this song instantly takes it away and relaxes me.

 

6. Clutch – Big News I

When I need some good tunes, and just need to unwind and groove, Clutch os always one of my go-to bands. The self-titled album is always at the top of my list. A great example of Neil Fallon’s lyrical poetry, this song always does it for me, and the main riff of the song gets stuck in my head for days.

“Full-ahead flank and out from the belly of the whale came a prophet AMEN!”

Your Turn - Tell Me What You Think!

